We Are Masters!

This week we have been learning about the “Circle of Courage.”  The Circle of Courage embodies the values that Regina Public Schools promote.  There are four quadrants to the C of C: Belonging, Independence, Generosity, and Mastery.

Image result for regina public circle of courage

We brainstormed ideas about what each quadrant could mean to us:

Belonging: we belong to our families, Hawrylak, our friends, Ms. Holmes’ class

Independence: We do things on our own, like play, tie our shoes, complete puzzles, build lego, ride a bike, clean up, etc.

Generosity: be generous, share with people, be nice, donate toys and clothes, etc.

Mastery: You are really good at something.

How amazing are these ideas?!  We then discussed each quadrant further…

Belonging: I can show kindness and consideration; I can help others

Independence: I can be responsible by owning and fixing my own actions; I can stay focused and regulated when learning

Generosity: I can show respect through my actions and words; I can treat others with fairness.

Mastery: I can do my very best; I can set goals for myself and achieve them.

We are going to be discussing these values throughout the year, and will be doing specific activities to reinforce the concepts.  We are starting with MASTERY.  I had the students think about ONE thing they are masters of (something they feel they do really well) and shared their ideas.  We had students share that they are masters of Pokemon cards, lego building, minecraft, dancing, piano, soccer, football, taekwondo, drawing, etc.  We discussed HOW we became masters of these activities–we had a GOAL (something we want to achieve) and we PRACTICED really hard for a long time in order to improve our skills and achieve our goal!

THIS WEEK we will be sharing with the class what we are masters of with a short presentation.  For example, if your child is a master of hockey, he/she may bring pictures of themselves in their hockey uniform, bring medals they have won, or send me a short video of them playing hockey!  Children will be expected to tell us WHAT they are masters of, WHY they are masters of that particular activity, and what they have had to DO to become masters.

MONDAY, OCT.3:

Moiz, Simon, Sam, Rylee, Aryan, Alexis, Jesse, Connor, Irene

TUESDAY, OCT. 4:

Jalen, Avery, Kaitlyn, Ayyan, Amanda, Quinn, Nevaeh

WEDNESDAY, OCT. 5:

Anoushka, Nia, Yahya, Gauri, Chec, Tharaa, Eric

I am so looking forward to hearing these wonderful presentations! 🙂

Ms. Holmes

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *